Ask Conrad – Why is one speaker not working on iPhone 4S?

Hi Conrad,

With my older iPhone, there was only one speaker on the bottom (and one mic).  I recently upgraded to the new iPhone 4S (Verizon), which seems to have two speakers at the bottom.  But I am only getting sound out of one speaker (the right one).  If I connect my headphones, there is audio coming out of both L and R earbuds.  Should I return or exchange the phone? 

Thanks,

Leslie

**********************************************

Hi Leslie,

The newer iPhones (4/4S) also have a single speaker, much like the older iPhones.  The 30-pin dock connector at the bottom of the iPhone is flanked by the built-in speaker (right) and the microphone (left).  So your phone is perfectly fine in that audio should be coming out only from the right side, and audio should come out of both L and R while using the headphones.

-Conrad

About Ask Conrad
I am a University Professor. A Neuroscientist by trade, and a technophile/geek on the side. My work and research is heavily dependent on computers and state-of-the-art technology. I like Jazz and Bossa Nova. I play the piano, guitar, and ukulele.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

