Logitech Ultimate Ears 600vi

This is a review of the Logitech Ultimate Ears 600vi Noise-Isolating Headset – Dark Silver. I tried this inner ear headset on various devices: Blackberry, iPhone 4S, iPad, iPad2, iPod Touch, iPod Mini, ThinkPad Lenovo, MacBook Pro, and Dell Precision 690.  It works well as a headset, and the mic and controller features work on my blackberry and iPhone/iPad/iPod.  Bottom line is that it is a very good inner-ear headset (IEH), but there is certainly room for improvement.

Firstly, I put the headphones through a modified burn-in regiment.  I used these headphones for 4-5 hours a day for two weeks straight on low-medium to medium volume (no more than 50% max volume).  If I did not have time to use them during this burn-in, I left them on my iPod overnight while the iPod went through my playlist.  I noticed that the headset started to give deeper bass response, sweeter mids, and crisper highs.

I found that the quality of this headset is just below the sound produced by the Ultimate Ears 700 set, most likely due to the dual speaker setup on the 700 (vs single driver on the 600).  In addition, the 700 is more portable than the 600vi because of the more compact design of the earbud body.  Unfortunately, I do not have the volume control and mic on my 700 version, so I cannot comment on its usefulness with devices that can make use of the microphones (ie. cell phones, Skype, etc.).

I would also rank the 600 below the Ultimate Ears TripleFi 10vi, which has three sets of drivers and allows for very nice clarity and separation of sound.  With the UE TripleFi 10vi, you pay a high premium, but you also get what you pay for, and that is excellent sound.  The sound quality of the 10vi is far superior to the 700 and the 600vi.  I bring my UE 10vi everywhere I go, and I leave this UE 600vi set when I am at work.

I particularly like the comfort provided by the foam tips.  It is more comfortable than all of the sub-50 dollar sets I’ve tried (and I’ve tried a lot).  This is certainly several levels higher than the stock earsets that come with various ipods and the blackberry. I am pleased that the microphone AND volume control work on my blackberry, and also with the Skype feature on my Ipod Touch.

The Logitech UE 600vi is a bit higher in pricepoint than other consumer IEH sets, but the sound is also a lot better. It can recreate a 3D soundstage, but not as well as the 700 or 10vi.  It is comparable in price to the Bose IE2 headset, or the Bose MIE2i mobile headset.

Overall, this UE 600vi is a very good sounding IEH.  It is a huge leap from some of the consumer earbuds, like the JBuds, Skullcandy, and Sennheiser 300/500 series earbuds.  4 stars (out of 5)

* If you liked my review and would like to support my work, please consider purchasing this item through amazon via the link below:

Logitech Ultimate Ears 600vi Noise-Isolating Headset – Dark Silver

About Ask Conrad
I am a University Professor. A Neuroscientist by trade, and a technophile/geek on the side. My work and research is heavily dependent on computers and state-of-the-art technology. I like Jazz and Bossa Nova. I play the piano, guitar, and ukulele.

One Response to Logitech Ultimate Ears 600vi

  1. Pingback: Review – Motorola SF600 Wireless Sports Headphones « Ask Conrad

Leave a Reply

