Seagate Barracuda ST500DM001 2 TB SATAIII Internal Bare Drive

Seagate Barracuda 2TB

Seagate Barracuda 2TB

This is a review of the Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM 2 TB SATA 6 GB/s NCQ 64 MB Cache 3.5-Inch Internal Bare Drive (ST500DM001).

This is part of the “Barracuda” series, and not a Green drive. According to the manufacturer specs, this 7200 rpm drive has a 64MB cache, advanced format 4K sectors, 6GB/s interface. I cannot find any information regarding the warranty, but my experience with Seagate warranty has been pretty good.

From what I’ve seen with this drive, I would not hesitate to use it as a performance or data drive. It is fast enough to run the OS, and large enough to store tons of data files. In fact, I will be replacing my WD Raptor (10K rpm) drive with this one because this Barracuda outperformed the Raptor in ALL of my benchmark and real-world testings. (For detailed specs, see below).

Overall, highly recommended.

For more information (ie. benchmark numbers, tests, etc.) please read on.

(Warning: Geek alert!!!)

Seagate Barracuda 2TB

Seagate Barracuda 2TB

Seagate has implemented the 1TB-per-Disk technology on its Barracuda drives, but some sites have reported that this 2TB model has three disks instead of two. This drive boasts low power consumption, and complies with the RoHS directive on hazardous materials and volunatarily restrict halogen compounds. So it is as green as possible with minimal sacrifice on performance. These are very good drives that balance performance, reliability, and capacity. I’ve tested this drive as a boot drive and for data storage, and so far it has exceeded my expectations and performed with high marks.

I asked for an OEM drive, and not a retail package (boxed with cables, screws, etc.). I tested one of these drives on a desktop PC. I really did not know what to expect because it is a relatively new drive. First thing I did was format it to NTFS using PartedMagic (multiple partitions).

Using CDM 3.0.1 and HD Tach as benchmarking tools, I got the following specs:
Average Read – 249 MB/s
Sequential Read – 258 MB/s
Aveage Write – 126 MB/s
Sequential Write – 136 MB/s

Clearly, these benchmark numbers are impressive. The benchmark numbers for this drive are a bit more impressive than the WD Black 2TB model, and it may have to do with the fast 6GBps interface (SATA3), the larger cache (64MB), or the advanced format 4K sector.

Using real files, I calculated the transfer to and from an SSD drive. I transferred an 8.5 GB folder containing 1GB files. Using Windows, I clocked an average 52 MBps read and 24 MBps write. In a Mac (OS X), the same files transferred were 61 MBps read and 37 MBps write. The folder took under three minutes to transfer over!!! Very impressive numbers.

I did not find this drive to be particularly noisy. My Hitachi 1TB 7200 and my WD Raptor are louder (though this is obvious). On my PC, the boot drive (Raptor) is noisier because it is a 10K rpm drive. However, this Seagate drive is noisier than my 5400 and 5900 rpm drives (not surprising). I’ve never tried this drive on a RAID configuration (having only one). I may try it in my NAS box if I feel adventurous, but I don’t really want to fuss around with non-matching drives for RAID arrays (just a personal preference).

After seeing the performance of this drive in benchmark and real-world files, I would use this drive for a boot drive and for backups. Only time will tell how reliable they are.

Highly recommended!!!

About Ask Conrad
I am a University Professor. A Neuroscientist by trade, and a technophile/geek on the side. My work and research is heavily dependent on computers and state-of-the-art technology. I like Jazz and Bossa Nova. I play the piano, guitar, and ukulele.

Leave a Reply

