From Comcast to Netflix, and back to Comcast

I was tired of giving my paycheck to Comcast for premium tv/video cable subscription.  I looked into TiVo + Netflix to save on cost.  Wrong.

How did Netflix fail so miserably? Let’s see…

I wanted to avoid the $15/month Comcast DVR rental.  TiVo is charging $20/month for the first box, and $15/month for subsequent boxes.  Fail.

I purchased the TiVo Premiere DVR on Amazon, and I wanted to the buy the TiVo Lifetime Service.  Ooops.  Lifetime service pricing only available if you purchase directly through TiVo (or at least not available if purchased through Amazon).  Fail.

I wanted to watch “Baby Mama” with Amy Poehler and Tina Fey.  Not available on Netflix.  WTF?!  Fail.

Now I am watching all this bad PR from Netflix.  Raising fees for streaming+DVD by 60%.  With little/no warning.  Reason for price increase?  Not really quite sure, or at least Netflix seems to be giving conflicting answers.

Yesterday, Netflix online video streaming service was down, up to eight hours for some customers.   Talk about bad luck.  It happens at the same time as the company was trying to stay afloat from hitting a public relations iceberg over a subscription fee hike.  When it rains, it pours…

I may just stay with Comcast a bit longer.  Yes, I’m paying a king’s ransom, but I get to watch “Baby Mama” and “White Chicks.”

Or at least until the Netflix execs have their WTF moment and settle for a more reasonable hike… say $1?!

About Ask Conrad
I am a University Professor. A Neuroscientist by trade, and a technophile/geek on the side. My work and research is heavily dependent on computers and state-of-the-art technology. I like Jazz and Bossa Nova. I play the piano, guitar, and ukulele.

Leave a Reply

